softiesplace

Guilty Pleasures

on January 25, 2013

“Short is the joy that guilty pleasure brings.”~Euripides

I have spent a fair amount of time thinking about happiness. In my daily practice as a counselor and in my own personal daily life I try to remember to view the world through a glass half full framework. To remember to be mindful and find joy in the small things.

Well, see there is the thing. The thing that one does not always like to talk about when she is finding joy in the small things. Sometimes we find that joy but it is not in something that we are thrilled to be shouting to the masses about. Let’s face it we all have things that we look forward to , truly enjoy, but for some reason we feel others will judge us if we profess our love for said object.

Well since we all have them those non gourmet food items, cornball movies, dorky outfits, nerdy hobbies whatever they are I say own them and do not be afraid to share. Guaranteed whether a person admits it or not everyone has her own version of the guilty pleasure.

Last night I was home alone. I made myself a quick supper and it inspired this blog post. What did I choose? Well one of my absolute favorite things to eat is hot dogs. I know I have heard it all so many times. “Do you know what’s in those things?” I have heard all manner of crazy items rat hair, teeth, pig lips, pig tails, bones, liver, kidneys, hearts, etcetera. “They are processed.” “They contain nitrates.” No matter what I am told it does not seem to turn me off because I just love hot dogs. I know it is weird. In a world of gourmet delicacies I choose hot dogs. Now, don’t get me wrong. I love many, many other much healthier foods as well. Yet, I still crave hot dogs and eat them without hesitation. There is one thing that I am absolutely firm about when it comes to my hot dogs. I love a variety of toppings on my dog mustard, relish, onions, sauerkraut, chili, cheese, almost anything but one thing that I never, ever, ever want on my hot dog is ketchup. Trust me on this one hotdogs and ketchup just should not go together.

tumblr_m4jbmcLg6u1rnh64xo1_500[1]

9 responses to “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Lisa F says:

    Ketchup does to go on hotdogs!

  2. The Happy Larder says:

    I do love a good hot dog too! And my guilty pleasure that brings me joy is eating raw cake mix when I am baking… 🙂 Love your blog! Kirsten @ The Happy Larder

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Kirsten!Thank you for being willing to admit your guilty pleasure. I am really happy you came by the blog today. Thank you for your lovely comments. 🙂

  3. I love hotdogs, too! Loaded with mustard and sauerkraut! 🙂

  4. Angela says:

    I see what you are saying here! In a way my blog is my guilty pleasure because I can write about whatever I want without worrying too much about what people (at least people I know) will think. As far as food, I love bananas mashed up with peanut butter. It doesn’t look very appetizing but it tastes very good.

    • softie1 says:

      I can see your point too Angela. A blog can offer a feeling of anonymity which can allow us to write more openly if we choose. Actually, your banana p. b. mash sounds pretty tasty. Thank you for dropping in and leaving a comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

