softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on January 29, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

Have you ever been on a boat? (Motor boat, sail boat, cruise ship, ark, or Good Ship Lollipop)

images[4]

Yes. I have been on a boat. I do not like going on boats. I can not swim so anything on or near water makes me pretty nervous. The only chance anyone ever has of getting me on a boat is if my husband is along with me and I have a flotation device of some sort. otherwise I will not even think about it.

Yes the above photo dates me. I am 47 and yes I did watch The Love Boat. For some reason this question made me think of the show right away. I watch too much tv and often think in cultural references. Bad habit, I know.

Do you need an alarm to wake up in the morning, or do you wake up naturally? If you have an alarm, tell us what type.

imagesCA871EYK

Most definitely I need an alarm if I have to get up on time for anything. Usually I wake up to an alarm 6 days a week. My favorite day of course is the day I don’t have to set an alarm. On those days it is rare for me to wake up before 7:30 or more likely 8:00.

I have a digital alarm clock with dual settings. My husband needs to wake to a very early alarm on his work days because he has a rather lengthy commute. The clock does have a radio but I rarely use that feature. (Occasionally I will use it to listen to the weather forecast, but not often.) We both wake to the annoying buzz. It is too easy for us to ignore the radio. 🙂

Have you ever had a yard sale?

imagesCAURRY1CI have only had a yard sale once and even then my husband really did most of the work. We both decided it was more of a hassle than it was worth. I will very occasionally browse a yard sale. That is actually pretty rare for me. So, I would say yard sales really are not my thing.

Do you like kitchen gadgets? What are some of your favorite?

imagesCAPR03D5Yes. I have stopped buying very many because I realize they are not all necessary but they always attract me. It is not just in the kitchen either. I am attracted to electric devices of all types, lol. My electric kettle is one device that is always on my counter and was worth every penny. I use it multiple times daily for making tea. My husband also uses it to make hot drinks when he is home.

Do you read labels at the grocery store?

images[4] (2)

Probably not as closely as I should. I often will if it is a new item that I am unfamiliar with or sometimes to compare two similar items. I need to pay closer attention to that calorie box for sure. 😉

Thanks Patrice!

7 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Colletta says:

    I love my mini spatula too! Thanks for stopping by!

    Colletta

  2. Hi Softie! Your line about the Love Boat made me laugh…guess we are of the same sort of era 🙂 Couldn’t live without our kettle or coffee maker – I would be very grumpy and would definitely need TWO alarm clocks to wake up. Thank you for stopping by my blog earlier! Kirsten x

    • softie1 says:

      LOL. I don’t know why but as soon as I read that question the theme song for the show popped into my head! I am glad that is someone else out there that remembers watching that show sometimes too. Thanks Kirsten fro dropping by and leaving a comment. 🙂

  3. patrice says:

    Electric kettles are wonderful. They heat up so fast. I remember the love boat. They had some daffy plots. I totally agree with you regarding yard sales, but I still like to go to them. Have a great week!

  4. softie1 says:

    Thanks Patrice! I hope you have a great week too.

  5. Lisa F says:

    Electric kettles are very versatile! they can make oatmeal, tea or any hot drink really!

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

