softiesplace

♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

on February 9, 2013

       IMG_2161IMG_2156   IMG_2158  IMG_2155

IMG_2168

IMG_2169

Having the Valentine decorations up around the house are bringing happy to the whole family.

One morning this week. I bit into this piece of toast and realized how fabulous just a solitary piece of toast with jam tastes. Brightened up a totally dreary morning. I recognized it as a true example of how some of the small things are simply the best.

In my kitchen I have red accessories. I had a very cute pair of red salt and pepper shakers. I loved the look of them but they frustrated me because they simply were not functional. They held very little salt and pepper, even though they were medium-sized, so they had to be refilled often. The stoppers were on the bottom of the shaker so you always had to try to fill them without spilling everything out of the top. It was always a project. I finally had enough. I purchased a simple set with screw off lids. They hold far more, unscrew and fill in a minute flat, and are rather cheerful to boot. Much happier.

IMG_2183

Number one happy for the week. I worked late yesterday. When I came home I was surprised to see my granddaughter had come to spend the night with us! Here she is modeling her lovely new wooly cap.

Our weekend is off to a great start. I hope yours is too.♥

4 responses to “♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

  1. gigunelsa says:

    How cute the little girl looks! It makes me so happy to see that! Thank you for showing!

    • softie1 says:

      She does look adorable in the hat! It fits her very well too. I am glad you were able to see her wearing it. Thanks again for sharing your lovely handiwork. 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi Softie! Your granddaughter is so cute, I love her red hair. I totally agree with you about simple jam on toast; I eat that pretty often myself and I enjoy it a lot.

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks. She does have beautiful hair. Her mom got it trimmed in the afternoon after this photo so it is shorter over those beautiful blue eyes. Thanks for stooping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

