softiesplace

Eleven Questions

on February 17, 2013

leibster

“The Liebster Award is for bloggers with under 300 followers and the rules of the award is that the nominee must link back to whoever awarded them, write 11 random facts about themselves, answer the 11 questions from the award giver, and then nominate another 11 bloggers and make up 11 questions for them to answer. It’s a great way for new and undiscovered bloggers to meet new people, get more followers and find some blogs that they want to follow.”

Friday, I was nominated for the Liebster award by Jennifer at Thistlebear. Thistlebear is a lovely blog and I began following Jennifer’s writings regularly after my first reading of her blog. Jennifer writes about the daily happenings in her home, her family, her crafting and cooking. Jennifer is one of a few wonderful ladies that read my blog regularly. She frequently leaves comments which just makes my day! Thank you Jennifer for your kindness in nominating my blog for this award. 🙂

Eleven random facts about me.

1. I went to an all girl’s high school.

2. I am allergic to shellfish. 

3. I was born on November 13th. So of course I do not believe that 13 is an unlucky number!

4. My oldest child was born on my Grandmother’s birthday. 🙂

5. I got married at 19 and had my first child at 21. ( July will be 28 years for us 🙂 )

6. I never learned to swim.

7. I learned how to drive when I was 21.

8. I live in an old house built in 1857.

9. I do not eat anything made with mayonnaise. I detest the stuff.

10. When I received my Bachelor’s degree, I graduated summa cum laude.

11. I am a terrible typist. I still look at the keys or I make a ton of mistakes!

Here are Jennifer’s questions for me:

1. What was the first music concert you ever attended?
The first concert I ever attended was Journey’s Escape tour in May, 1982.
2. Would you rather be hot or cold?
Most definitely hot. I hate cold weather and I hate being cold. If it was up to me I would be moving to a warm climate ASAP. Being that my husband does not love the heat, and with the economy the way it is and the fact that we both appreciate our jobs, I will sadly not be leaving the Midwest anytime soon.
3. What is your favorite soft drink?
Soda would be ginger ale or root beer. I almost never drink soda unless it is a special occasion. On an average day I drink flavored water or Crystal Lite.
4. Can you whistle? Roll your tongue? Wiggle your ears?
No to all three.
5. What is your favorite book?
I like so many books I am not sure that I have an actual favorite. Many years ago, long before the Hallmark Channel Movies, I read the Janette Oke Love Comes Softly series. I liked it so much I purchased all the books and I still have them. That would have to be one of my favorites. When I was in high school I took British Literature. I did not like the classics such as the Canterbury Tales or Beowulf but once we got into the romantic stories I loved them all. Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre, Tess of the d’Urbervilles were some I remember that I loved.
6. Coffee or tea?
Tea most definitely. I don’t like coffee. I have it tried it many times and different flavors. I just can not seem to acquire a taste for it. The only coffee flavored item I like is Tiramisu. Tea I love. I like tea both hot or iced. I drink much more hot tea though. I drink 4 to 5 cups a day of hot tea on average.
7. Have you ever had a brand-new car?
Yes. Way back in 1987 I had a brand new car. It was a Plymouth Horizon hatchback, LOL. My last few cars have been purchased one or two years old.
8. Do you know how to dance?
I can do a basic waltz but anything else is just whatever feels right. Wow, that sounds pretty scary to watch. Good thing I do not dance much, lol.
9. Do you collect anything?
I used to collect tea pots. I have a whole china cabinet full of them. I still love tea pots but I stopped adding to my collection because I just do not have room to keep them.
10. How many pillows do you sleep with?
I sleep with two pillows.
11. What is your favorite pair of shoes?
A pair of hot pink Nike running shoes. (No, I am not a runner. I just like the color and comfort of theses shoes.)
Here are my Eleven Questions:
1.Where would you travel to for your dream vacation?
2. What is your favorite dessert?
3. Do you prefer mountain views or ocean views?
4. In how many different places have you lived?
5. Which do you prefer a wedding band or wedding set?
6. Did you have any input in choosing your wedding ring or was it a surprise?
7. Saver or spender?
8. What is your favorite film or movie?
9. Vintage or Modern?
10. Do you have a favorite quote?
11. What made you laugh or smile the most this week?
I would like to pass the Liebster award on to the following blogs. Each and every one of them has interested me and has a unique perspective to offer. Take a look at them if you can. I am sure you will enjoy your visit.
From My Mental Library
The Happy Larder
My Blethering Blog
Angel Jem’s City Cottage
Heart Shaped
Writing from Scotland
An American in Wiesbaden
My Little Piece of England
Sunny Skies and Sweet Tea
Tales from a Happy House
P. S. If any of these blogs has more than 300 followers my sincerest apologies. I had a difficult time figuring out how many followers each blog had exactly. I tried my best to check and adhere to the rules.
11 responses to “Eleven Questions

  1. Amy Jo says:

    Hi Softie,

    I just found out you had a blog! I am your newest follower! Thank you for the award and I will do a post tonight or in the morning answering your questions. Blessings to you,
    Amy Jo

  2. Diana says:

    Hey, we have the same birthday! I also happened to be born on a Friday — yikes. And during the Year of the Dragon. Double Yikes!!!

    • softie1 says:

      Hi Diana! Ha ha ha, to a lot of people that probably would be some sort of dramatic terrible sign of doom. Too us we know better. I was born in the year of the snake on a Saturday morning (1965). You may not remember this but I actually knew we had the same birthday. I commented on your blog when you posted about your birthday. If I remember correctly we also share an affinity for Pepperidge Farm coconut cake. Thanks for commenting on my blog. It is really cool for me to see you here as I have been enjoying your blog for a long time. Enjoy your evening. 🙂
      ~Jan

  3. Diane says:

    Many thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment – and for my award! I’m honoured!!! If you don’t mind, I won’t pick this up as I have done loads of these in the past – I feel as if I have nothing else to reveal!!!! Ive really enjoyed reading your blog and I am going to follow you. xxxxx

  4. Jennifer says:

    I really enjoyed reading your Liebster post, Softie! I love learning new things about my friends.

  5. Anne says:

    Thanks so much for the award, Softie. I really appreciate it. I’ll try and get a blog post done with my answers soon. :o)

  6. You are MUCH smarter than I am. 🙂 I like a lot of the same books you do. Have your shown your teapot collection in past posts? I’d love to see it. #9- vintage. #4- I had to stop and count all the places I have lived: 15 houses and 1 college dorm, 7 cities/towns, 6 states and 1 province, 3 countries, 2 continents. Yup, crazy.

    • softie1 says:

      I guarantee I am not one bit smarter than you. I will admit that I love taking classes and reading and test taking is a strength for me. Intelligence is about much more than school or tests. So, I am quite sure I am no smarter than anyone else I know. I have not posted my teapots. I have most of them stored in one cabinet, a few stragglers in other places, but I will take a photo of the cabinet and post it soon. Wow you have lived in so many places! 2 continents, cool. I have never lived outside of my home state. I would love to travel to more places. I wish it was more affordable. Thanks for sharing that information. I love to learn more about other bloggers. I would like to hear more about the places you lived too.

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

