softiesplace

Tuesday Update and Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on February 19, 2013

Hello! A Big Thank You to all of you that left your good thoughts and best wishes for my granddaughter yesterday. She finally seems to have stopped throwing up at around 10 last night. She slept the rest of the night which I think made a great difference. She is still home with me today because she can not seem to break the fever. She is definitely more herself today though so I am able to log onto the computer a bit while she lies on the couch nearby watching My Little Pony. (Her favorite!) I hope she is well tomorrow but in case she is not Grandpa or as she calls him “Pops” will take over and I will return to work. Ok, now for this week’s Chat…

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

What’s your favorite fruit?

My favorite fruit is blueberries followed closely by apples and mandarin oranges. I don’t eat blueberries that often when they are out of season because of the price but I eat apples and oranges especially “Cuties” often.

UnknownΒ  Β images

Wendell would like to know if you’ve ever been horseback riding.

I have been a couple of times. I am by no means skilled at riding! I definitely need to be accompanied by an experienced rider and horse. :0)

images-1

Do you carry a small purse, a big one, or just a wallet?

I carry a medium-sized purse right now. I almost want to call it large but it is small in comparison to some of the suitcase size bags I see a lot of younger gals carrying around. That is kind of humorous to me. When I was in my 20’s it was the grandmas that carried around the huge suitcases and the younger girls carried teeny tiny bags. Now it seems to have flip-flopped. I prefer the tiny bags but just can not seem to do it full-time. I am always happy when I can down size. No matter what size I like to have something that I can wear crossbody when I am shopping or in a crowd. The photo below is the actual purse I have been using this winter.

IMG_2209

If you could travel to one state for a day (all expense paid), where would you go? If you’re not in the US, where would you like to travel within your country?

I have visited 35 states in the U.S. so far. I surely would like to travel to all of them one day. If I could choose to go to one today I would choose Alaska. I know, that is an odd response from me since I am not a fan of cold weather. I am a fan of beautiful mountains! I love mountains. If one were to ask me Mountains or Oceans, mountains would win hands down. Now do not get me wrong I am not going to turn down a trip to the Mediterranean any time soon (I can appreciate both πŸ˜‰ ) but if I need to choose mountains win for me. Also, I think there would be a lot to enjoy of wildlife and unspoiled vistas. The funny part is my sweet husband who loves the cold does not find a trip to Alaska all that appealing. Weird huh? So most likely that will not be the next destination on the list for a long while, lol. That is ok since there are plenty more places to explore.

Unknown

What was your first car?

My first car was a Plymouth Horizon. We purchased it in 1986. The photo below is not my actual car but it is pretty close to what mine looked like. We had that car for many years. When I needed to move to a bigger vehicle to transport our 3 children, my husband drove it to work for years until it had almost 200,000 miles! We got our moneys worth on that vehicle. It was a very reliable little car. Currently, I drive a 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe. I have been thinking about trading it in but my husband is just not ready yet. I think I am ready to go back to something smaller this time. Gas mileage on those small vehicles is sooooo much better. He drives a Dodge Avenger. I don’t know if that is considered compact or mid size but even that vehicle gets waaaay better gas mileage than my vehicle. I will have to see what is out there when the time is right.

DS10_r048_01

I hope you and your family members are staying warm, happy, and healthy today. Thanks to all of you that drop by my blog and I just really love to see your comments! Thank you Patrice for hosting another great Chat. πŸ™‚

22 responses to “Tuesday Update and Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Jennifer says:

    What an interesting chat! I really enjoyed reading this post.

  2. Mary says:

    Alaska would be fun to visit, it’s so pretty and so rugged. I enjoyed your answers, have a great day!

  3. patrice says:

    I like the same fruits too. I think that’s an adorable picture of the horse with his special rider! I would love to visit Alaska. Have a great week!

  4. patrice says:

    Back again- I forgot to say that I hope the little one gets well soon. πŸ™‚

  5. I love blueberries and mandarins too. My bag is pretty big. I’ve been trying to downsize for years but … looks like I just got too much stuff LOL.

  6. Jen Pace says:

    i picked alaska too… seems like it would be such a cool and interesting place!

  7. D says:

    Alaska is somwplace I would like to see in the summer someday. I like cool but not that cool in winter. Have A GREAT week.

    • softie1 says:

      In truth I would prefer to visit there in the summer too. If the trip was free though I would go right now! Thank you for stopping here. Have a great week!

  8. krissie says:

    Thanks for so much for stopping by my blog too… I dont like the cold temps either, but when you said alaska, I thought… oh yes, now that would be one heck of great place to see! hope your grand daughter is feeling much better today?

    • softie1 says:

      I enjoyed my visit to your blog. I really think it would be a fabulous place to see. My granddaughter is improving. If only that darn fever would break. Hopefully soon. Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment!

  9. AngelJem says:

    Alaska sounds fascinating. I just finished Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey set there and it was really interesting.
    And smaller cars are more economical but they can also have great character. I love my Clio. I get to drive around and pretend I’m really a young French woman living in Paris.

    • softie1 says:

      You are the second person that has mentioned that book. I have to look it up now it must be good. I love the idea of pretending to be a young woman driving around Paris! Yes, I could get into that. πŸ™‚

  10. Ah, that’s good that the little lady is feeling better!
    Blueberries are one of my favourite foods too – it was actually between mango and blueberries when I answered the Liebster award questions. Alaska sounds fabulous – there are just so many places I’d love to visit…well, one can dream πŸ™‚ Kirsten x

    • softie1 says:

      I am exactly the same. I love to travel and would jet off at a moments notice, but most of it will only be in my dreams! Well lovely dreams they are… πŸ™‚

  11. Beth says:

    & to think that Plymouth no longer is around. things sure do change. have a good week. ( :

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

