softiesplace

♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

on February 23, 2013

IMG_2222

IMG_2219

IMG_2220    IMG_2221

 

IMG_2218

 

Week 7

The last two days have been a bit crazy. Work was very busy. I had a lot to catch up on since I took some time off, so I have been busy catching up. This weekend I have plans both days. I will have to get some laundry done in there somewhere so it looks like it will be a busy one around here.

Here are a few of my happy moments this week:

On Thursday my granddaughter’s fever finally broke. We were all thrilled around here to see the normal reading on the thermometer!!

Receiving another beautiful pair of Gigunelsa’s beautiful warm wooly socks. What perfect timing too as it is still quite cold and we received another 3 inches of snow yesterday.

My granddaughter loves to play waitress. I came home from work one day and she had been playing restaurant with her Pops. This was the menu she had written out. It made me laugh out loud!! ( No big surprise that most of her menu items are her favorites 🙂 ) * Here is a translation in case you can’t decipher a  6 year old’s spelling: Dinner soup with carrots, pork chop, steak, hamburgers,spam, salmon, ravioli, spaghetti with sauce, rice, cottage cheese, Drinks, water, Coke, Pepsi, Cherry Coke, Desserts, ice cream, pie, cherry pie, milk shake, mint shake, french fries, chips.

I have been putting out some of my spring decorations now that I put the Valentine’s decorations away. This little bird sitting on her nest salt and pepper set is one of my favorites. I don’t use it for salt and pepper just as a decoration. It made me happy to put it out and think of spring coming. I am so ready for spring even though the weather around here is not cooperating with me. 🙂

I hope your weekend is going just as you planned. I have lots to fit in so I better get off my computer and out and about. Have a wonderful Day!!

14 responses to “♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love all of your happy things, Softie! I showed my son (age 7) your granddaughter’s restaurant menu and asked him if he could write all of those words too. He wasn’t sure! I’m so glad she’s feeling better now. I used to play waitress all the time when I was little, it was one of my favorites, along with bank, school, store…it’s good to see a child playing pretend these days. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Jennifer! I used to love to play school and house when I was little too. I am so happy she is feeling back to her old self. She is good at writing, reading, and imaginative play. Like all kids today she loves tv and technology (the ipad especially) too but her time with those things is limited. She does not have an easy time with math though. That is much more of a struggle for her and she has to spend lots of time practicing it and she gets frustrated with it. I hate to see that in a first grader. I hope in time it will start to get easier for her but I can already tell that her strengths lie in the other end of the spectrum. Thank you for your kind words. Have a great Saturday.

  2. I love the “spagedey with sos”! Please keep this and show it to your granddaughter when she is an adult, she’ll love it, too.
    Great feedback about my Mum’s socks, thank you so much!!!

  3. Lisa F says:

    Those socks should inspire you to try to figure out my loom and make some 😉

  4. Anne says:

    I loved your granddaughter’s menu choices. “Spgedey with sos” made me laugh out loud! :oD

  5. Well, I’d love to come and eat at your granddaughter’s restaurant! 🙂 Too cute for words! And I love the new socks you got! Hopefully Spring will come soon for you though, so you don’t need to wrap up too warm. Kirsten x

  6. Gillian says:

    I just love that little list! My daughter is six so I am fluent in the language – she likes to write endless menus and stories with the most, err, imaginative spelling! But I keep them all, they make me smile.

    Gillian x

    • softie1 says:

      I think you will be glad you kept those stories. I really enjoy when I look at the drawings and stories I saved from my children when they were little.It really is true what people say about how fast they grow up. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

  7. Amy Jo says:

    I am glad your granddaughter is better! Her menu is adorable. I am glad spring is right around the corner…

    blessings,
    Amy Jo

  8. softie1 says:

    Thanks Amy Jo!! I sure hope you are right about spring!!

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

