softiesplace

Sunday Night Chit Chat

on February 24, 2013

This weekend went by way, way too fast! Yesterday I cleaned the house, grocery shopped, and went to meet my youngest daughter at school. We went out to dinner with her roommate and did some shopping. We had a really fun time but I ended up going to bed quite a bit later than usual. Today I had to do my laundry and some other chores to get ready for the week. I wrapped up and boxed some items for a blog swap I am participating in. It was really fun to put this swap box together and I really hope my swap partner likes her gifts. I went to my friend’s house and her daughter colored my hair. When I came home my oldest daughter and granddaughter came over to have dinner with us. I made a big salad and we ordered pizza to eat with the salad. My husband, daughter, and I had cake for dessert. My granddaughter turned down the cake and asked for a sliced apple instead. Wow, she did not get that from me. I love apples, and she knows I always have them here because I usually eat one a day, but I never skip dessert in favor of them. I am glad that she did and I hope eating like that becomes a life long habit for her.

 

 

 

IMG_2224

My youngest daughter gave me permission to post this photo of her. Last night she and her friend  suggested we go to a restaurant they both like that I had never been to before. The menu was huge, the food was really good, and the portions were huge. All entrees come with choice of soup or salad. We all started off with chicken noodle soup. The soup actually would have been enough, but then we received huge entrees. I took the photo to show that the large amount of food on her plate was the leftovers that she was taking home. That was only half of what she received! Both she and her roommate were happy that they had plenty to eat for lunch today. I am glad they both enjoyed it. It was a fun evening for all of us.

All righty, time for Sunday Night Chit Chat:

Reading: This weekend I have not had time to read much of anything. I did read one article in Majesty magazine.

Watching: My husband and I watched an episode of the Middle. We love that show. As usual we were not disappointed. We  really enjoyed this episode.

Listening to: My husband is flipping channels.

Cooking/Baking: I made lemon cake with lemon glaze. I tried this recipe because it was a smaller cake and baked in an 8 x 8 pan. I like to bake some kind of treat on the weekend but I am trying to make recipes that do not make such a huge quantity because I think it would be better if we limited our baked sweets to just the weekend instead of eating treats all week-long. 

IMG_2226

Happy you accomplished this week: On Thursday I attended the knitting workshop I had been looking forward to for a month. The instructor taught us the knit cast on, the long tail cast on, the knit stitch, the purl stitch, and to bind off. I was able to complete them all. 

Looking forward to next week: Being able to practice the knitting techniques I learned. It is not coming easy. I feel like I am all fingers or something. I hope if I spend enough time at it that I will not forget what she showed us and hopefully it will start to get easier!

Thankful for today: I am so thankful that the days are getting so much noticeably longer! I love that sunshine even if it is still too cold.

Bonus question: What item is currently on the *TOP* of your wish list right now? I would like a nice sterling locket. I can not seem to narrow down the exact one I want but I am on the look out for the right one.

13 responses to “Sunday Night Chit Chat

  1. ~Carla~ says:

    Your daughter is beautiful! She has a gorgeous smile! 🙂 Sounds like a great meal out! Speaking of food.. that lemon cake looks amazing! Did you post that recipe somewhere? lol!! “The Middle” is a funny show, we’ve caught it a few times and definitely a good one! Enjoy your week!

    • softie1 says:

      Thank you Carla! She would be flattered to hear that I’m sure. I will post the lemon cake recipe for you. I am glad to here you like the Middle too. I wish there were more good comedies on tv these days. Enjoy your week as well.

  2. That lemon cake looks sooo good! My sister-in-law started only eating sweets on days that start with an S–Saturday, Sunday and Special Days (such as birthdays, holidays and vacation). She has been doing this for a couple years. I just started it this week:)

    • softie1 says:

      That actually sounds like a really good idea for limiting snacks. It is definitely an area I need some improvement in. I just love sweets, but I hate to even think about trying on my summer clothes, lol. Good luck in starting the new plan. Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

  3. Jennifer says:

    Your daughter is so cute! You have a lot of redheads in your family. Your meal and other time with her sounds very nice. I love reading your chit-chats. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Jennifer! Yes we do! There is one more too. Maybe someday she will let me put a photo of her up on the blog too. It was a very nice weekend. Thank you for stopping over to read the Chit Chat. I always enjoy reading your lovely comments!

  4. Lisa F says:

    Where is my lemon cake?

  5. Anne says:

    That’s the leftovers? Goodness me! 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      That was why I had to take that photo! The portions were crazy big! I had roast chicken, with mashed potatoes, and stuffing, plus soup. Like the girls I could not even nearly finish it. It was all very good but I would definitely share a meal if I went there again. Have a Great week!!

  6. Hi, thank you very much for your visit. So nice to meet you. I hope you get the hang of knitting. It is so very nice to knit.
    Have a great day.

  7. Wow – those look like great portions of food 🙂 It’s fabulous that you get to take the leftovers home. Here in the UK that trend is only just starting but I think it is such a fabulous idea.
    Your daughter is lovely – she looks very pleased with her meal 🙂
    Oh, and well done on your knitting – I wish I could knit better than I can at the moment…maybe there’s a workshop near to me too? Will have to investigate… Have a fab day! Kirsten x

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Kirsten. Sometimes she can be a bit particular about her food but she was happy with that one for sure. I never realized that about leftovers in the U.K. I hope that does become the norm for you because it seems like such a waste to throw them away. I wonder if there is a knitting group near you? I don’t know your area but it seems that many more UK bloggers have access to wool shops and the “knit and natter” groups than we do here. Mayb if you look into it you will find one. You will have to keep me posted. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

