softiesplace

Wednesday After Work

on February 27, 2013

As soon as I walked in the door from work I asked my husband if he would like to take just a little walk with me. He very nicely complied with my request. I had my camera in my pocket and took a few photos of my neighborhood. It was cold so we did not venture very far. All of these shots are within a very short distance from my house.

IMG_2235

 

This shot above is at the north rear of my yard.

IMG_2237     IMG_2238     IMG_2239   IMG_2241

IMG_2240   IMG_2242

The photo on the right was the town’s original library. The library has since modernized and moved into a much bigger building on the East end of town.

IMG_2245   IMG_2246    IMG_2247  IMG_2243

IMG_2248    IMG_2249    IMG_2250   IMG_2251

IMG_2252     IMG_2255

 

Most of the houses are just houses on my block or the block behind me that I just think are pretty. The very last house, the blue one with the blue and white shutters, is the front of our house.

IMG_2257

 

My husband couldn’t resist shoveling off a little more snow and I could not resist snapping this photo when he did not expect it. 🙂

I hope you enjoyed a little glimpse of our neighborhood. When spring arrives I will take some more.

12 responses to “Wednesday After Work

  1. Anne says:

    Gorgeous photos, Softie. Now I understand why you were longing for a sunshiney day like I had!

    • softie1 says:

      Thank you Anne. It is gray and gloomy again here this morning. Supposed to snow a bit again today. You bet I am still longing for one of those sunny days. I certainly would have a difficult time if I had to live in the arctic north. I guess I had better count my blessings.

  2. Aah, I’m so jealous (in the nicest possible way)! Your house and neighborhood are so charming – AND photogenic!

    • softie1 says:

      Why thank you so much. Every neighborhood has its bad along with the good. I only showed you some of my favorite things. It would be too depressing to do a post on the things that I do not like very much but believe me my neighborhood has those things too. Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment! 🙂

  3. Cheryl says:

    Thank you I enjoyed peeking at your neighbourhood, so different from ours. Your house looks like one from a film… sigh… beautiful 🙂 xx

    • softie1 says:

      Thank you Cheryl that was so sweet. I like the looks of older homes but they have alot of work. There are still many things we would like to do in our house. Maybe one of these days…

  4. The homes in your neighborhood are so wonderful. I really love old houses. I had to laugh that both our posts today are of our husbands out clearing snow in one way or another.

  5. Kirsten says:

    Oh, I love your neighbourhood and your house is beautiful! Still so much snow though…hope Spring will be on its way for you soon! 🙂

  6. softie1 says:

    Thank you Kirsten! I heard more snow early next week. 😦 I am going to keep thinking spring!!

  7. Jennifer says:

    Your neighborhood and your house are so pretty. I love houses from that era. A long time ago, before we had kids, my husband and I rented a small house built in the 1860’s. I loved the attic. I hope the snow lets up for you very soon. I’m sure your neighborhood is beautiful in spring too.

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Jennifer. I bet that was a lovely house. Back in the late 80’s my husband and I bought our first house which was a small little ranch. It was a wonderful house but we outgrew it with our family and moved into this house. Now that our kids are grown I miss that little house and would love to be able to move back in. We aren’t going anywhere for awhile. Maybe when we retire we might get something smaller but I have about 13-15 years before that. So we have quite awhile to think about that.

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

