softiesplace

♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

on March 2, 2013

IMG_2260

IMG_2265        IMG_2291

IMG_2264

IMG_2301

Week 8

March Yay!! I was thrilled to turn over the calendar to March. On the 10th we change the time. Longer days can not be beat. Surely by the end of March the weather will be warming up and we will be heading into spring. As they say in like a lion out like a lamb. Well it has very much come in like a lion so that must mean mild days ahead. 🙂

I had two packages arrive in the mail this week that made me very happy. How nice to come home to fun mail. What an extra fun treat when it happens 2 days in a row!! The beautiful bag came from Anne at The Tartan Bee. In case you don’t know Anne she is a very talented quilter and seamstress from Scotland. She shows her lovely creations along with some recipes, some adorable dog photos, and interesting anecdotes over at the My Blethering Blog. I recommend you stop by and visit her blog.The lovely hat came from Gigunelsa. Her etsy shop and creations are often featured on her daughter Meike’s blog From My Mental Library. Meike’s blog features book reviews, stylish fashions, and daily happenings from Meike’s life in Germany. You should check it out she has a blogoversary giveaway going on right now.

Some cheerful flowers and leprechauns have been put out on the mantel to help me happily welcome March into my home.

Kettlecorn Yum.

A couple of extras…

I have a happy thing for this week that is not captured by a photo. My husband and I have decided to have a date night on Saturday night. We are going to see a movie that I have been wanting to see since I started seeing the previews on television. I am looking forward to going out to do that tonight. 

The flowers below are from the same plant I showed you before that has never bloomed in the winter for me. It has a bunch more flowers and I just love them!!

The last photo is for Gigunelsa. She wanted to know if the hat she sent fit me. It fits and it is beautiful. I just love the colors and really love the little flower. The photo is a little funky because I took it myself so it doesn’t really do the hat justice but it really is perfect. Thank you so much!! 🙂

IMG_2296

IMG_2286

12 responses to “♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

  1. Moonwaves says:

    What a lovely, happy post! Always glad to see a link to another Germany-based blog, too. And now I want popcorn – decision on what to have for dinner may have been made.

    • softie1 says:

      Thank you Moonwaves. I can’t help but be happy on the weekend. I received a bonus too the sun is actually shining today! We have not seen that for days around here. I hope you had your popcorn. I like almost every type. It does make a nice dinner on occasion. 🙂 Have a great weekend.

  2. gigunelsa says:

    Hi Janice,
    I am so glad, that the hat is fitting and you look so lovely at the photo! You really have very beautiful eyes! And I also like your Tiffany-lamp! Thank you for your kind mentioning of my Etsy-Shop.

    • softie1 says:

      Thank you so much!! I am glad you stopped over to see it. You did a fabulous job. The hat fits very well, the colors are perfect, it is nice and warm, and I love the flower you attached. That was the perfect touch. I love tiffany style lamps. I have a couple of them. The others are small and do not put off enough light. I think they are more just for fashion/looks. That tall one does a very nice job of both looking pretty and being very functional. It is one of my favorite items. Have a great weekend!!

  3. Kirsten says:

    Oh, what a lovely hat – it really suits you! Have a wonderful date night tonight – that’s a very good idea! Love your post & photos as always! Kirsten x

  4. Anne says:

    I’m so glad the bag arrived safely, Softie. Thanks again for buying it – and for all the lovely things you said about me! :o)

  5. Jennifer says:

    You are so cute! The hat looks great on you. I love kettle corn and I wish I had some right now! I hope your date was a lot of fun. 🙂

  6. Gillian says:

    Like you, I am happy that March is here and spring is coming. I had to google kettle corn – turns out it’s just sweet and salty popcorn which sounds delicious and just the sort of thing I like to eat!

    Love the hat. 🙂

    Gillian x

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

