softiesplace

♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

on March 9, 2013

This has been a busy week for me! This week and next I have to do some things at work that usually are not part of my workday. Needless, to say that throws the normal schedule off a bit to do those things and what I normally do everyday. Yet, it is good. I love being busy at work and I love being helpful. So it is all working out well. It has left me tired in the evenings so there has not been as much to record here in this space during the week. Here are just of a few of the happy things these week.

IMG_2308    IMG_2309

IMG_2310

IMG_2311

IMG_2307

Week 9

Those huge delicious slabs of pie were from an evening this week when my husband was at work. I took my oldest daughter and sweet granddaughter out to dinner. The little one picked the spot. There were so many lovely pies offered that her mom and I decided we had to have some. The waitress added the ice cream! I am still full, lol.

Instead of flowers this week I purchased this shamrock plant. I have seen these before but, I have never bought one. Even my husband who does not have a drop of Irish blood in him thought it looked cheerful in the t.v. room.

I am still practicing the knitting! I have finally figured out how to loosen up on the stitches. This has made it much less of a struggle to insert my hook and pull the new stitch through. I included this photo with trepidation. It is making me happy to be able to slowly improve at this goal. Yet, I realize that is not exactly a stellar knitting sample but you all get that it is just practice I am sure! Those are big needles in that photo. I do not have any smaller ones. That is on my list. As soon as I get some smaller ones (I hope this week) I am actually going to start on a dish cloth. It is a super simple pattern and I am confident that I will get it done.

The last photo is my cute little grandadaughter. I certainly was not all that excited about the additional snow we got earlier in the week but she sure was thrilled. I can not help but feel happy when she is excited about something. I snapped this photo right before we left for school on Wednesday morning.

There is some happy news on the weather front. We are supposed to get temperatures that reach the 40’s this weekend. Along with some predicted rain, that should start melting this snow away. All the temps for this week are predicted to be in the high 30’s or low 40’s. Hooray I think spring is finally really on its way!

2 bonus items to share without photos. My youngest daughter arrived home last night for a full week. Yay!! We are happy about that around here. She seems to be mostly interested in making sure that her favorite meals are served so we will have to get some cooking time in this week. She wants to grocery shop for that stuff tomorrow. Maybe I can get in a girl’s night with her sister too. We will have to see about that. Tonight hubby and I are having that dinner with his sister and her husband and we all are really looking forward to that.

I told you that was a lot of happy again this week. 🙂 Plus, who could not be happy that tomorrow is the time change. Woohoo an extra hour of light! Longer days are good.

I hope things are bright in happy in your world this week. If they are not look closer because there are so many little snippets of happiness when we really look for them. Have a fabulous weekend!!

8 responses to “♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

  1. That looks wonderful. Your knitting looks great too. That pie looks so very delicious !!!
    Have a great weekend.

    • softie1 says:

      Thank you! The pie was so yummy. That was so sweet of you to say about the knitting. Especially since your knitting is so absolutely perfect. It truly looks like it was from a machine. I am so happy you visited my blog again. Thank you for leaving a comment! 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    I want that pie! YUM. Your knitting is really coming along. Great job!

  3. Jo says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. So many things there to be happy about. Your knitting looks great, I wouldn’t have thought that you’re a beginner. What a lovely photo of your grandaughter, and how lovely to have your daughter home, it sounds like you’re going to have a fun week.

  4. Anne says:

    Those pies look delicious! Very moreish. :o)

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

