softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on March 12, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

Hello and Happy Tuesday to you! It is the first sunny day we have had here in at least 4 or 5 days. I would say most people I have spoken to around here seem a lot more upbeat today. I can sure feel it. I also am getting a much-needed hair trim tonight and I am really looking forward to that.

Ok on to Patrice’s questions for this week:

What’s your favorite movie of all times? The one you’ve seen multiple times.

I have so many favorites but number one is probably While You Were Sleeping. I can not even begin to estimate how many times I have watched it. I can never resist it if I flip past  it on tv. I have even watched it 2 days in a row before. I know that is weird. I have a few movies like that. I could just watch them repeatedly. I can not imagine that anyone reading this would not have already seen this movie, but in case you have not, I highly recommend you watch it. 🙂

imagesCA1KFUWJ

Name three things that are permanent residents in your handbag or purse.

My wallet/change purse, glasses, and Kleenex tissues.

imagesCARD8JG7

What’s the best way to your heart?

Willingness to spend time together, shared interests, and trustworthiness.

imagesCAF7J45S

Do you like going to yard sales?

I don’t mind going to yard sales but I do not like having yard sales. That being said, I do not go to many yard sales. I am not opposed to going to them but I just rarely do it.

imagesCAURRY1C

If you could slide down a rainbow, what do you think you’d find on the other side?

The pot of gold of course!! I would love that. I would not love to find myself in Oz “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” that is for sure. I am not a Wizard of Oz fan. Of course when I grew up it was before VCR, DVD, and DVR. The Wizard of Oz was always on once a year and I knew tons of people who loved it and looked forward to it. I did not. I was about 10 before I could make it through the whole movie. I did not enjoy the wicked witch and in particular her flying monkey minions. They really freaked me out. Back in those days, I prefered my witches to be more like Glinda or Samantha, lol. Strangely enough I loved being a witch for Halloween, but I never had any flying monkeys accompany me for darn sure!

imagesCA4QEY2I

Thank you Patrice! If you would like to join into the Chat with Patrice pop over to Everyday Ruralty and check it out. Have a great Day. 🙂

20 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Sherri says:

    Nice to meet you. You must be the 1st person I have ever heard of who dosen’t like the Wizard of Oz…The Girl & I actually can’t wait to see Disney’s new version. I can understand how you didn’t like the Wicked Witch of the West & the monkeys freaked me out…I still remember hiding my eyes when the wicked witch’s theme song would come on. Glenda on the other hand…Who didn’t want to be her? Have a blessed week :O)

  2. Anne says:

    Oh I definitely didn’t like the monkeys in the Wizard of Oz. Nor the wicked witch. Scary!! :O

  3. Cath says:

    Oh that is a good movie. I love Sandra Bullock but my favourite of hers is The Proposal with Ryan Reynolds. I love that movie.
    Cath @ Bits ‘n Bobs

    • softie1 says:

      I like that one too. My youngest daughter would agree with you not me. It is definitely on her top ten list. I like many Sandra Bullock movies.

  4. Still love The Wizard of Oz, can’t wait to see the new film, hope it’s not been overhyped. Flying monkeys are rather scary 🙂 xx

  5. Cheryl says:

    Still love The Wizard of Oz, can’t wait to see the new film, hope it’s not been overhyped. Flying monkeys are rather scary… not sure what happened to my other comment 🙂

  6. Madonna says:

    I was one of those who looked forward to seeing the Wizard of Oz every February. I hate that its overplayed now. You can’t count on it being on. I like traditions but the world seems to be doing away with them. Thanks for visiting my site.

    • softie1 says:

      Even though I did not enjoy that movie I totally get what you mean about traditions. I do miss the routine of things like that and the world the way it was before technology seemed to take over. There are some things about technology I like but many things I do not especially the pace of it, the way it seems to control and dictate some ways in which the world is changing, the expense and constant need to upgrade, and the loss of things like the traditions you ae speaking about.

  7. Beth says:

    can’t remember which person had the very same movie – but you guys should hang out together & enjoy a few laugh while the movie plays. i enjoy that movie too. great one. have a great week. ( :

  8. Ah, very glad you have had some sunshine at last! It does make a difference, doesn’t it? Love your movie choice – I could watch “Hitch” every time it’s on TV 🙂 Have a great week! Kirsten x

  9. Jo says:

    I’ve never seen While You Were Sleeping, though I don’t know why because I like Sandra Bullock. I’ll have to watch out for it.

  10. Jennifer says:

    See, this is why we get along. I can’t stand the Wizard of Oz. Remember how they would show it on TV around a major holiday? I feel like it would come on Thanksgiving weekend or something, but like you say, just once a year. I never liked it as a child. It was too long and the Flying Monkeys scared me. I never saw the appeal. I’ve watched it a couple of times as an adult and still don’t see the appeal! Just not my thing, I guess. I’m glad I’m not alone. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Yes it was always around a holiday! Funny I can not remember exactly if it was Thanksgiving or Easter. Yes, I totally agree. Too long and no appeal for me here either. I never liked really any of it except Glinda. That is the only one positive that I can think of. That never really changed for me as an adult either. I just do not see what the fuss is about. I am so glad you are willing to admit your feelings on this and that I am not the only one! 🙂

  11. patrice says:

    That was an incredible movie!!! The premise was so clever. I have seen it several times, but not in a long time. I will have to get it our of the library. Have a good week!

    • softie1 says:

      Sounds good to me. I enjoy it every time I watch it. Your little pigs are adorable. Worth all that hard work and feeding I’m sure. Thanks for commenting Patrice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

