softiesplace

4 Happy Things

on March 14, 2013

I have been quite busy this week with my daughter being home on break. I was so tired last night I could barely keep my eyes open at 9p.m.! It may be tiring me out but it has been good to have her around. 🙂

Back in January I joined the 4 Happy Things Swap that was being offered on the Bobo Bun blog to celebrate the 4 year blogiversary of this cute blog. Lisa (Mrs. Bun) matched me with Carol from Smile at the Flowers. Lisa did a fabulous job! I really have enjoyed getting to know Carol (we have been emailing back and forth) and have found her blog to be filled with crochet and garden goodness.

On Tuesday I received my swap package from Carol and was overwhelmed by her generosity. It was as if Carol has known me for a long time because her gifts were very well-chosen. I took photos because I could not resist sharing my happiness.

The package arrived wrapped in brown paper.

IMG_2315

There was much suspense as I unwrapped it.

IMG_2316

Followed by this:

IMG_2317

IMG_2318

and then this..

.IMG_2319

I read her very lovely note and then followed her directions to open the parcels. To reveal so many wonderful surprises! I am sure you see what I mean about her generosity. She went above and beyond 4 Happy Things.

IMG_2320

Carol really did well at understanding my likes.  What a delicious assortment of sweet treats. I never even mentioned my love of all things black licorice and my family was so surprised that she happened to send me that very flavor. I have to say half of those delicious Blackjack chews have already been gobbled down by yours truly. 🙂 The antique cookbook and needlework magazine were very neat to read. The cookbook has many recipes that are classic with easy ingredients and clear instructions. I already have some in mind to try out. The hankie and handmade lavender scented heart are just lovely. I thought about hanging the heart on my bedpost but I decided to hang it on the china cabinet in the dining room because it was just much to pretty not to leave it out where it could be admired by others in the house. I love tea and I was really excited to receive 2 new to me teas to try out. The packaging on the tea is quite pretty too. I received a gorgeous handmade tea cosy. Carol is quite talented at crochet! It was so pretty I had to dig around in my teapots immediately to find one that it fit. I have included a photo of it in use on one of my teapots so Carol could see that it fits perfectly!

IMG_2323

Thank you Carol!! Your gifts were lovely. It indeed has made me very happy to get to know you and to be your swap partner. I have subscribed to Carol’s blog and I really hope we can stay in touch.

I hope you are having a wonderful and happy week. 🙂

 

16 responses to “4 Happy Things

  1. Anne says:

    Great gifts! The Be-Ro book is a classic. You should visit their site to see how long it’s been going. (http://www.be-ro.co.uk/f_about.htm)

  2. Kirsten says:

    Oh, what a wonderful parcel to receive! Too cute for words. I am happy that you received something so lovely – guess this happiness thing is catching 😉 Kirsten x

  3. Oh, what lovely things you received in the swap!! The striped teacozy made me smile! 🙂

  4. Linda Crow says:

    So cute. What a day brightener!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Those are beautiful gifts! I read Carol’s swap post the other day and thought how nice it is to be following both of your blogs so I can see the swap from both sides! I’m really glad you were so well-matched, it looks like you both had fun. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      That is pretty great that you got to see it from both sides. I think you have a good sense of some of my preferences so I think you know how well she did and how happy I was to receive such a thoughtful gift! Have a great weekend Jennifer. 🙂

  6. Gillian says:

    That swap looks like a lot of fun! Great gifts. The tea cosy is wonderful, I love the colours.

    Gillian x

  7. Ooo, I love that teapot “dress”, so very pretty and it’s amazing you found a teapot to fit.

    I notice most of your commenters have their blog url with their name. I can’t seem to get mine to work without a WordPress account 🙂 Twitter is, well, a bit of a pain.

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Clairity I think it is so cute too. I am sorry I do not know why the WordPress sign in does not work properly for you. I actually am not that great with techie or blog type stuff. If I find out I will let you know as I would like to be able to help you fix it.

  8. Carol says:

    Hi Jan, just read all the nice comments on this post, aren’t people just lovely?
    Carol xx

    • softie1 says:

      Yes the people that visit here are really sweet lovely people. They also have good taste because all of your gifts were really beautiful and special. Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

