softiesplace

♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

on March 17, 2013

Week 10

IMG_2325

IMG_2329     IMG_1943

IMG_2334

Happy things this week:

Our corned beef and cabbage St. Patrick’s Day celebratory dinner. We had it on Friday night so my daughter and husband could both be here to enjoy it.

All of the delicious baking and cooking my daughter does when she is home on break!

Some sun and blue skies for a change! It is still way too cold but it is so nice to see and feel the sun once in a while!

I do not have any photos of the play from last night but that would be my fourth happy item this week. My daughter and I had a terrific time. I do not always enjoy driving into the city of Chicago but last night the drive went very easily. Also, I found surprisingly close, easy, and free street parking. The play was called The Garden of Secrets. It was a cute musical comedy. The premise was a group of crazy neighbors that live in a city apartment complex. All of the action happens out in the courtyard/garden of the building. The eclectic mix of characters in this apartment includes 3 core families. The Montagues, The Capulets, and the Zuckos. Yes, the Montagues and Capulets are supposed to be distant relations to the famed star-crossed lovers.  The Zuckos are supposed to be Danny and Sandy from Grease at middle age long married with two grown children Annette and Frankie. 😉 Mix in a trio of  elderly spinster sisters Rosie, Josie, and Flo (that the local realtor refers to as Batty, Catty, and Fatty,) a couple of crazy artists, a dancer, and a scientist and the result is one really funny clever story. It was not really a love story and no Romina Montague and Julian Capulet do not get together in this story. Annette Zucko and Julian Capulet do elope. That is just one small twist in the story. The real story revolves around two secret recipes that only work well when they actual combine them. The resulting cooperative effort and marketing campaign end up saving this apartment complex from foreclosure and keep this madcap mix of characters together with a really sweet happy ending. The jokes were funny, the songs were clever, and the ending was obviously a happy one. For me, that made this play quite enjoyable. After the play my daughter and I had a chance to visit with my husband’s brother and his wife and they treated us to some delicious Chicago pizza. It was a fun night.

Today I have started off the day slowly since last night was extra late for me. ( It is a 2 hour and 15 minute drive to Chicago from here so it was late when we got back home!) I have started laundry but I have a bunch more to do. Yesterday my daughter went with me to get some groceries before we went out so today I do not have to leave the house. I can just relax and finish up the few things that need to be done before work tomorrow. She is sleeping in late but then she has to leave to head back to school today. 😦 I will miss her again but this will only be for a short while. It will not be all that long before her semester ends in early May. I am keeping that in mind today.

Happy Sunday! Have a relaxing day and a great week!!

10 responses to “♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

  1. Jennifer says:

    The play sounds really cute! I would have liked to see that. It combines two of my favorite love stories. 🙂 Your St. Patrick’s dinner looks delicious! We’ll be having ours tonight. I don’t love corned beef, but I can manage one meal a year. 🙂 Have a great day!

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Jennifer. I think you would have enjoyed the play. I actually really like corned beef but I only eat it once or twice a year probably. So it was a real treat for me. I hope you have a good dinner this evening. Even if you don’t eat much corned beef you can’t miss with buttery potatoes, yum. 🙂

  2. That all sounds like a lot of fun. I can relate to the difficulties of driving around Chicago, from when we lived in Normal, Illinois. I remember once ending up in some kind of underground part of the city – ? I don’t think I was imagining it. Talk about taking a wrong turn!

    • softie1 says:

      Oh dear! That sounds like just the sort of thing that I would stumble into. I am famous for making wrong turns or missing turn offs. Glad you made it out of there in one piece. It was a really fun evening. Thank you for dropping by and leaving a comment. 🙂

  3. Anne says:

    Those are great happy photos, Softie, and the play sounds really interesting! :o)

  4. It sounds like you has a wonderful time.
    I love the pictures !!
    That show sounds so great.
    Have a wonderful day.

  5. Gillian says:

    I really like your happy things. How lovely that your daughter likes to bake and cook when she comes home.

    We don’t have the big distances in the UK that you have in the US so no-one I know would drive for two hours to see a play. Which is silly really when you think about it!

    Gillian x

    • softie1 says:

      We do drive some crazy distances in the U.S. Unfortunately, we do not have a well designed rail system like most countries in Europe have. Therefore, we drive many places when in Europe you would have a much more enjoyable and shorter trip by hopping on a train to get from city from city. That being said, I can totally see why no one you know would drive that distance because it is a long way to go to see a show. We do have some local plays in this area that we attend on occasion but, in general they are nothing like the professional plays in a big city like Chicago. We had an invitation to attend this play through my sister-in-law so it was a special occasion for us to drive up there to do this. It is not something we do all the time. My son lives in Chicago. He had a previous commitment that evening so we were not able to connect with him. Occasionally we will combine a visit to see him along with a special event in the city so it makes that long drive seem more worthwhile.

      It really does make me happy when my daughter bakes or cooks for us. I love to see her doing relaxing, enjoyable, and practical things like cooking. Plus of course we love being able to be the taste testers. 😉

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

