softiesplace

Sunday Night Chit Chat

on March 24, 2013

IMG_2340IMG_2341IMG_2343

IMG_2344IMG_2349IMG_2355

What are you:
Reading

Close to Famous. It is young adult fiction. Sometimes kids I work with recommend books they are reading and then it is fun to talk with them about the books after I read them. This is a cute one so far.

Watching

The movie I had wanted to see this weekend was no longer at the theater locally. So, the only thing I have watched was an episode of Nova with my husband and 2 episodes of Too Cute on Animal Planet.

Listening to

My husband playing Hill Climb on his iPad.

Baking/cooking

Tonight I made rotini with meat sauce and broccoli and carrots with garlic for dinner.

Happy you accomplished this week

All the laundry, helped my husband get the chassis recertified, and colored my hair.

Looking forward to next week

It is a short week at work this week and all my kids will be coming home for the Easter holiday next weekend.

Thankful for today

This very nice weekend with my husband. Above are some photos from yesterday. There was some work to get the car loaded and unloaded, there was a bit of waiting for the technical inspectors, and some “jabber jawing” for the hubs. He treated me to a nice meal after for being a good sport helping out with the whole process. This morning we slept in and had a slow relaxing Sunday. We each cooked a meal and shared the clean up. I have finished the laundry and we have just hung out. It has been lovely. Just what I was hoping for this weekend. 🙂

Bonus question: What is your absolute favorite dessert?

Well, there are very few desserts that I don’t like…but Tiramisu is one of my favorites. Coconut cake and pie are also two of my favorites. It is so hard to choose just one. 🙂

If you want to join in with Sunday Night Chit Chat head over to Half-Dozen Daily to post your link. Thanks Carla!

7 responses to “Sunday Night Chit Chat

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m so glad you had a nice weekend. Are you a teacher? I love Tiramisu too, and it’s my husband’s favorite. I often make it for this birthday “cake.” 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Hi Jennifer. No, I am not a teacher. I am a counselor. I have worked in many different counseling settings and with all different age groups. For the last dozen years or so I have worked exclusively with kids. Currently, I work with kids aged 11-15. Are you a coffee drinker? For some reason I was thinking that you are not. I am not a coffee drinker at all but for some reason I do really like tiramisu. I know that is weird because it is coffee flavored. I can not explain it but all the flavors and textures together really work for me despite the coffee. Your husband is a lucky guy to get Tiramisu homemade every birthday. 🙂

  2. Jo says:

    It sounds like you had just the weekend you were hoping for. I like nothing better than spending the weekend with my family.

  3. Moonwaves says:

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. It really was difficult to choose just one dessert, wasn’t it? I do love tiramisu, too, although like you, I don’t like coffee. I really dislike amaretto as well but having made it with and without know that it definitely improves it. It’s just one of those things that is greater than the sum of its parts. I have to be careful to use decaff coffee if I’m making it but ever since I did make it the first time myself, I’ve never found nicer in a restaurant, so if I want it, it’s homemade all the way. Every summer I mean to make a strawberry tiramisu and forget about it – maybe I’ll get around to it this year. Hmmm, I do have a few jars of bottled strawberries from last year still sitting there, maybe I don’t need to wait for the summer.

    • softie1 says:

      I have never had strawberry tiramisu. Sounds like you need to clear out those strawberries to make some room for the new crop this summer. Tiramisu sounds like a good way to do it. 😉

  4. Oh, Mr Happy Larder would have very much enjoyed the car jabber jawing 🙂 It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend! Kirsten x

    • softie1 says:

      Well anytime Mr. Happy Larder comes to the states have him drop on by. Mr. softiesplace would be happy to jabber jaw with him anytime, lol. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

