softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on March 26, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

“What kinds of seafood have you tried and liked? What is the most unique seafood you’ve eaten?

I am allergic to shellfish so I have not eaten seafood in a long, long, time.

images[7]

“An unforgettable holiday moment is_____________________. (She’s on the other side of that BIG pond. I believe a holiday is a vacation on this side. )

When our kids were little we took them on a camping trip. We were camping in a state park in Florida. One morning I took my girls, who were 11 and 6 years old at the time, to shower in the ladies shower house. Much to my utter disbelief, while my daughters and I were in mid shower a couple came in to the shower house, stripped nude, and proceeded to have an “intimate” shower experience in the shower right next to us. It is not like they thought they were alone. My girls were little, obviously they were chatting away and not silent. I never moved so quickly in a shower before! I rinsed and hustled those girls out of there as fast as possible. That really made me reluctant to shower in a public bath house after that. In fact ever since then never have we showered in one without my husband right outside at the ready in case any other situation should arise where a man decided to enter the shower house.

imagesCAAX1ZHS

“When was the last time you tried something new?”

In January when I decided to create my own blog.

imagesCA70BYKH

“Who or what inspires you?”

I often have the privilege of working with  children that have cognitive disabilities. The amount of effort they put into things that average children often just take for granted or do not even bother to put any efforts towards never ceases to inspire me.

imagesCAX5D2FC

” How did you chose the names of your children. Wendell adds,”If you don’t have kids, how do you choose pet names?”

For our oldest daughter I picked out a few names that I liked and my husband chose the one he liked best from those. We chose to use his Grandmother’s name for her middle name. My husband really wanted our son to have his first name and we chose to use my brother’s name for his middle name. (My brother introduced my husband and I.) For our youngest daughter we were having an awful time coming up with a name we both liked. Whatever I liked he didn’t and vice versa. Then one evening we were watching television and one of the characters had her name. I said you know that is a pretty name. Then my husband said “you know what I was just thinking that.” We decided then and there that was the name. I chose a middle name that I really liked and I thought sounded harmonious with her first name. My husband agreed and for a long time we called her by both names. Of all our children still to this day, our youngest is the one who is most apt to use her middle name even when it is not a requirement.

imagesCADNF587

For those of you that are curious, as much as it may be embarrassing to admit this, the television program was The Simpsons. 🙂 

Thank you Patrice for hosting another fun chat.

17 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Jennifer says:

    That’s a cute story about your kids’ names; we had a horrible time coming up with names, especially for our son. We argued so much. I think it’s because I have a very common first name and my husband has an unusual one; we both wanted to give our kids better names than we had! LOL. That story about camping…yikes! I would have reacted the same way. Years ago, before we had any kids, my husband and I were camping and the people at the next campsite were…amorous…and VERY loud! OMG, it was horrible, like trapped animals or something. We were embarrassed and so annoyed by it. I can’t even imagine it with kids in tow. 😦

    • softie1 says:

      Yuck that sounds awful. Weird there must be something about sleeping under the stars that brings out some people’s “animal instincts” or something. Me personally I agree with you how embarassing and annoying.

  2. Kari says:

    I can’t imagine a couple having a shower together in a public bath house! That would have done it for me. When my children were young, I’d likely have done as you did. Now, I’m a lot more confrontational. I THINK I’d speak up and express my displeasure. Hasn’t happened so I can’t be certain.

    • softie1 says:

      A lot of people have asked me why I did not say something to them. I am not very good at confronting strangers. You just never know who you are dealing with and how they will respond. Plus, really my main thoughts were to get my girls the heck out of there because the less seen or heard by them the better.

  3. Debbie says:

    That’s funny about your daughter’s name and it was The Simpson’s. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Yes. I am not a regular Simpsons fan or anything like that we sort of just happened upon it and I guess there must have been a reason for it becuase we sure were having difficulty choosing a name for months and then bam we knew right there on the spot. 🙂

  4. Beth says:

    wow, i can understand the camping shower issues – i do have been in weird situations while camping. keeps life interesting indeed. ha. ha!! ( :

    sorry to hear of your allergy to seafood. my Dad can not eat shrimp. he thinks he is allergic but not sure??! he got sick once & never tried it again because of that once. but he loves fish.

  5. Madonna says:

    Oh my goodness what a terrible camping story. There are certainly some weird and nasty folks out there. I feel sorry for you being allergic to shellfish. I just love it so much I can’t imagine not being able to eat it. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  6. Jen Pace says:

    OMG at the intimate shower!!

  7. How interesting about your children’s names. Our son was nearly 4 when we adopted him, but we gave him a middle name from us. When he was 6 he decided he wanted to be known by his middle name, which he still is (he’s now 20). When our daughter came along in the more usual way, we decided to pick a name that works in English, French and Gaelic. At that time we were both French teachers and thought we would be going to France more than it turned out we did. But she was educated in Gaelic throughout primary school and was known at school by the Gaelic version of her name.

    My mother is known to all her cousins and people she grew up with by her first and middle name, kind of run together. I like that…

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks for sharing those name stories. That was really interesting and touching that your son decided to go by his middle name that your family chose for him. 🙂

  8. So nice to read all this. You are doing great with blogging !!! So sorry to hear you are allergic to shellfish. That can be so nice !!
    Have a great day.

  9. patrice says:

    I enjoyed reading your responses. I took a while to get over here because I’ve been down with the flu this week. I hope you have a wonderful Easter!

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

