softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on April 9, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

Are you enjoying spring?

I had my first taste of spring last Friday. We have had a couple of nice days since. I have loved every minute of it and can not wait for it to get a bit warmer and stay that way. Tomorrow the temps are supposed to get cold again for a while but this little taste has given me hope that the warmth is going to get here one of these days.

imagesCASYKIRD

Where would you take Patrice for her birthday, if you could spend a day together. Wendell hopes you would bring her back!
I would take her to Keukenhof gardens in the Netherlands. Crocuses, daffodils, and the first tulips are in bloom right now. This is a place that I have always wanted to visit in the spring. It is most definitely on my bucket list and I truly hope to get there someday. I would love to take you along Patrice. Don’t worry Wendell I would bring her home after a nice long visit.
imagesCACSWDJV
What’s your favorite spring flower?
My favorite spring flowers are lilacs. They usually bloom very close to Mother’s Day where I live. I have a big bush in my yard. I have always loved both the scent and the color since I was a little girl. Thoughts of them instantly remind me of spring.
imagesCAYHG2TP
What do you do when you are going through a really stressful time?
I always revert to the comforts of home. Cups of tea, comforting snacks like popcorn or cake, favorite television shows, jammies, and extra sleep. It usually helps me relax, work through the issues, and get back on track or shored up to face what the next day brings.
imagesCA5PXH49
What kind of birthday cake would you get for Patrice? And Wendell?
I don’t know Patrice’s favorite (I would surely get that if I knew) so I would go traditional with a yellow cake slathered in buttercream. For Wendell it would be carrot cake of course! 😉
imagesCAQHU63Z   imagesCA8J0H7M
HAPPY BIRTHDAY PATRICE!! Thank you for hosting another great chat.
26 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Jennifer says:

    We’re so much alike! I have always wanted to visit Keukenhof, I love lilacs and I love popcorn and baked goods as comfort foods too. 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    I would love to visit Keukendorf Gardens, I know it must be beautiful there. Very doubtful I’ll ever make it, but a girl can dream! Enjoyed visiting with you today!

  3. Becky says:

    Those gardens sound beautiful! It would be nice to visit them someday.

  4. patrice says:

    Keukenhof sounds lovely. I think tulips are so beautiful. Thank you for the birthday wishes. My “chats” friends are so special to me!

  5. Debbie says:

    Oh I had forgotten about lilacs!! I LOVE lilacs! Their scent is just heavenly. I have been to the Keukenhof gardens back many years ago with my son and Mom…..she is from Bakel, Netherlands and they were beautiful. Patrice would love them. I hope you have a great week!

    • softie1 says:

      I bet they were just gorgeous! How cool that your Mom is from the Netherlands. I imagine you have seen much of the country then. I am sure there are many beautiful places there. Thanks for stopping by . Have a great week.

  6. Beth says:

    where is the Keukenhof?… guess i need to figure it out. have a great week. ( :

    • softie1 says:

      Keukenhof gardens is in Lisse in the Netherlands. You should go to the site and look at the photos. It looks absolutely gorgeous. Have a great week!

  7. Allison says:

    I love lilacs too! We had a border of lilacs growing up and it was my all time favorite smell!!

  8. Moowaves says:

    I love lilac, too. We had a gorgeous lilac tree in our front garden when I was growing up and I used to love bringing some into school for my teacher. I didn’t realise how closely I connected it with May until I moved to Germany. The seasons tend to be a couple of weeks ahead of Ireland and it surprises me every year because the lilac always seems to have arrived too early. 🙂

  9. Cheryl says:

    Beautiful flowers Lilacs and Tulips, love Hydrangeas too 🙂 xx

  10. Ah, that is so nice, if you would come to The Netherlands, you could come by for a nice cup of coffee and homemade cake ; )
    My favourite flowers are dafodills, I just love them !!

  11. Leslie says:

    Our lilac is blooooming! A small bouquet is perfect in our home. I bought a few sprays yesterday of a variety of lilacs I hadn’t seen before.They are creamy white with a hint of pink. the Farmer is trying to propagate them from the stems, fingers crossed.

  12. Gillian says:

    Keukenhof looks wonderful, no wonder you want to visit there. I’ve never been to the Netherlands and I’d love to go. Lilac’s are beautiful and I love their smell. x

    • softie1 says:

      I hope you get to visit the netherlands one day. I bet it would be more realistic for you than I actually. The airfare from here is killer. I love the scent of lilacs too. 🙂

  13. ~Carla~ says:

    Oh.. the Netherlands look absolutely gorgeous!! Great choice! And that carrot cake is making me drool! haha!! Not into regular cakes, but carrot, zucchini, etc… mmmm!!!

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

