softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on April 16, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

Are you part of the back to nature/ecological group or are you more of the mindset of “I’ll do what I want and everything will work out in the end”?

untitled

At our house we do recycle as much as we can. It has really reduced our garbage by a lot. We hardly have very much at all. I am not good at very many other ecologically aware things. That is probably the biggest thing I do. I am not super ecologically careful in many other ways. Plus, I must confess I have an addiction to paper napkins. My youngest daughter has tried time and again to get me to switch to something else but she has yet to get me to actually do it.

What’s a favorite dinner dish to make?

images

Pasta with meat sauce. I am all about easy. It helps that everyone in my family loves pasta and will never complain anytime I make it.

What animals have you seen give live birth?

imagesCA3AC1AN

None unless a human counts. Aside from my own children, I also attended the birth of my granddaughter.

If you had the opportunity to teach something, what would you teach?

read

If I was teaching I would want it to be reading. I think reading is the key. If a person can read well he/she is very likely to be able to succeed at most anything they set out to learn.

What did you love most about school?

imagesCAL67GPM

No big surprise after the last question, but when I was in elementary school my favorite class was reading. In high school it was Literature. In college I discovered lecture halls. Loved them. I was never big on “hands on learning.” I did not like group activities (I prefer to be responsible for my own work not have to depend on someone else’s ideas or work ethic). Even to this day I hate when I go to a continuing education workshop and it is full of “activities.” I just prefer to have the material presented in an organized manner and I will take notes. I certainly will complete any companion readings and often do additional research. I am most happy to write up a paper or two and complete any necessary tests to demonstrate what I have learned. I don’t need any of that other fluff to get it to stick in my brain. It didn’t hurt at all that I am obviously a strong auditory learner and that it fed my little introverted heart to be able to fade away in a giant lecture hall unless I wanted to speak up. I am fully aware that most people do not prefer to learn this way. It drives my husband absolutely nuts. He is a very hands on guy. For me though it is wonderful. I would probably have been willing to be a professional student if I could have found someone to pay me for it. 🙂

Thank you Patrice for another lovely chat. If you would like to join in and chat Patrice would love to have you. Stop over at Everyday Ruralty and check it out.

25 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love reading your chats. We try to recycle and reduce our waste too but it’s hard sometimes. I would also like to begin composting but we need to get a barrel or find a good space in the yard for it. I think it’s nice that you attended your granddaughter’s birth; that must have been very special for you and your daughter. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      We have a compost pile in our back garden but we really only use it in the nice weather, not when things are frozen. So I can’t claim to be very good at that. It was very cool to be able to be with my daughter while she labored and to see my granddaughter be born. I was the second person to hold her. ♥

  2. How interesting! I agree with you that people learn in so many different ways. I’m much more like you than like your husband. My heart sinks to my feet when I’m at some training event and they bring out a lot of post-it notes. I’ve been thinking a lot about recycling myself. Here in Aberdeen we can recycle garden waste, plastics, glass, tin, paper and also food scraps. We have a compost heap but I’ve found the food waste service to be invaluable, as the compost is only so big, and also it freezes during the winter. But in Glasgow they don’t have food waste recycling (yet) and I will really miss it.

  3. Becky says:

    I take my bags back to Wal-mart, but our town doesn’t have any other type of recycling program. I would recycle more if they did.

  4. Beth says:

    are you good at poetry & all that jazz? i was never good at that when in school. it makes me brain hurt. but that being said i love Lord Tennyson. ( :

    • softie1 says:

      That depends. I am fine at reading and analyzing poetry but not so good at writing it. Have a great week Beth! Thanks for stopping by and chatting. 🙂

  5. Clairity says:

    I’m like you. I prefer to work on solo assignments simply because I inadvertently end up carrying most of the weight in groups and I don’t think it’s fair. It’s hard enough getting everyone to meet, let alone coordinate the work, some people simply have no concept of deadlines. So rather than stress over stuff like that, I think I do better work and quicker too alone, even if it makes me sound antisocial LOL.

    • softie1 says:

      I completely agree. Also, sometimes the quality of the work others think is acceptable or even their understanding of the concept is completely different from my own. Your antisocial comment made me laugh because that is something my kids have always said to me, lol. Totally not true though. Yes, I definitely crave and value my alone time but I do just fine at work and out in the world as well. I have a difficult time with the theory that all that group work in college is to prepare us for the team work necessary in the workplace. I think it is over emphasized. Yes, I have to work in teams, as well as individually in the workplace, but rarely do I find it very similar to those college groups. About the only real similarity is that sometimes everyone has to put up with someone they really don’t enjoy or perhaps even respect. For the most part all of the people I have worked with are professionals that take the job and the particular task at hand seriously and respect the deadlines. Totally different than college. Thankfully, for the better.

  6. I agree with you. If a person learns to read, they can learn most anything else. Without reading, the rest is greatly complicated. We are a houseful of voracious readers here. 🙂

    I enjoyed reading your post. Have a great week!

  7. I’m still using paper napkins only because Dave wanted to use them. When these napkins are gone, I’m going back to cloth, which I prefer. Enjoyed your answers and I love to read too. Thanks for visiting Thistle Cove Farm; you’re always welcome here.

  8. Cheryl says:

    I like to learn the same way as you, though in schools now it seems to be much more focussed towards activities and group work (I used to dread that), agree with you about reading too. I do try and recycle as much as I can, though I think we could still do much better than we do 🙂 xx

  9. patrice says:

    I enjoyed teaching my kids to read. It is my crowning achievement of home schooling. They are all avid readers. I think watching a baby being born is wonderful- human or animal! Have a good week!

  10. Gillian says:

    I really like these chat posts you are doing!

    Here in the UK the council collect recycled paper, metal and plastic when they collect our rubbish (trash!) and we take our empty glass bottles to the bottle bank every couple of weeks. Recycling is pretty widespread in the UK now, which is good. Other than that I try avoid using the car for short journeys and walk the kids to school and back when I can. Also, I always keep a re-usable shopping bag in my handbag so I don’t have to use a plastic bag from a shop. More and more shops here charge for a plastic carrier bag to encourage shoppers to bring their own. I like to think these little things all add up!

    Pasta with meat sauce is one of our favourite meals. My husband makes a mean ragu sauce. x

    • softie1 says:

      The reusable shopping bags are good. I did not think about that one but I have those too. I always keep them in the trunk of my car so I have them when I need them. I bet your husband’s sauce is delicious!

  11. Leslie says:

    Watching my first grandson being born, unforgettable. sometimes little boys are animals.

  12. Great questions and answers !!!
    Here in The Netherlands we recycle a lot: paper, plastic, bottles, green waste and normal waste. It all happens at home. I try to be careful with electricity, turning off lights where we don’t use them and not putting the heating on upstairs. I try to use less detergent and I use ecological dish soap and toilet cleaner. I use the things I have for a long time, repair them when they are broken, until they are really at the end.
    That pasta looks really good ; )

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

