softiesplace

♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

on April 21, 2013

Week 16

Well this week absolutely flew by. Which is remarkable because there were a couple of days that dragged on and I never thought would end! The first couple of days this week were pretty average routine days filled with work, appointments, and watching the news feeling shock and sadness over the bombings. I was looking forward to Wednesday. Wednesday was my granddaughter’s birthday. I was going to see her just briefly in the morning before I took her to school. I was looking forward to having breakfast with her and giving her birthday gift to her. Wednesday came and I was able to give her gift and she loved it. We were all happy. By the time we left it had started to rain. I dropped her off at school and then I went off and had an extremely busy day at work.  It stormed all day. It hailed and stormed some more. It continued throughout the night unceasingly. In that 24 hours we had well over 11 inches of rain.

This was the first inkling I had of how things were beginning to change as the water began to seep in:

IMG01    IMG02

In 20 years of living in this house never had we had one drop of water in this house! That all changed this week. Of course this happened when my husband was on 24 hour shift at the firehouse. (Any fireman’s wife knows this is always when things happen, lol.) Needless to say it turned into a big-giant-mess! The basement is now in a state of disaster. The water has been sucked out, fans have been running down there for  a couple of days, the carpet has all been ripped out and discarded, and some new paint has been applied in some areas. We are waiting for all that to dry and we will be getting some new, indoor/outdoor this time, carpeting. My husband has the washer and dryer hooked up so I can finally get back to doing the laundry today in the disaster zone. In the interest of keeping things real, here is a snapshot of the discombobulated basement in “recovery mode.”

IMG_2458

That is quite unlike me to show off a mess like that but I feel that it is only fair to show the bad with the good. Now, for the good news this week. Yes, I did not forget that this post should be focusing on the happy. Even in the midst of all this mess I definitely had some happy this week.

1. Of course there was Wednesday when I gave my granddaughter her American Girl doll and she loved it. 

2.Friday, the second day of basement clean up, I received a lovely surprise package in the mail from Anne! It would have been a wonderful surprise on any day but it was an extra incredible surprise on that particular day because I really was in need of something joyful and there it was as if on cue. Thank you, thank you, thank you, so much Anne! I plan on baking something from the wonderful recipes as soon as I can and I just love the pouch. I guarantee I will proudly use it and have already showed it off to several family members.

3. Yesterday, my daughter had a little party to celebrate my granddaughter’s birthday and her fiancé’s son’s birthday. Their birthdays fall in the same week. No matter what state the basement happened to be in we were determined to attend the party. We did and had a delightful time.

4. Our youngest daughter surprised everyone and drove home for the day to join the party fun. We were able to visit with her at the party and at dinner before she left. It was terrific to see her and I can not wait until her semester is over and she is home for a few months in May!

IMG_2456

Anne‘s wonderful surprise package. 🙂

PicMonkey Collage

Birthday fun. 🙂

(If you click on the photos they should enlarge)

I hope you have been focusing on the happy times in your days. If you would like to share in participating in 52 Weeks of Happy please visit Jen at Little Birdie like I have been doing each week. Thank you so much for visiting and for leaving your wonderful comments. I so appreciate each and every one. 

13 responses to “♥ 52 Weeks of Happy ♥

  1. ~Carla~ says:

    Oh no!!! What a thing to discover!! Hope it’s dried up now! Love the pouch, bright & fun! I bet your granddaughter will cherish her American Girl doll for years to come!! 🙂

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’m so sorry you had to deal with the flooding! I thought of you last week with all the rain, since I knew you lived in that general area. My husband had to fly through Chicago last week on a business trip and his flight was delayed by several hours due to the storms. I’m glad you were able to have a great birthday party in spite of this aggravation. It looks like everyone had a wonderful time! I’m sure the AG doll will be much-treasured; I love their dolls myself and my husband surprised me with one for my 26th birthday, before we even had any kids! I can’t wait until my daughter is old enough to have her own. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Hey thanks for thinking of us! Sorry your husband experienced that delay. Did he make the American Girl doll to look like you? That was a pretty neat gift. I think they are really neat and to be honest my daughters were having as much fun playing with the doll as my granddaughter was. 🙂 They have started to think about their AG dolls and they mentioned digging them out when my youngest gets done with school for the semester. I think my granddaughter will get to have some fun with Mommy and Auntie one day this summer. I will be interested to see which doll your GB chooses when it is her turn to have her own. Have a great week!

      • Jennifer says:

        Actually, mine is a Molly doll; I don’t remember whether you could make them custom like you back then. But I would really like to do that for my daughter. The only problem is that when I have looked at them, the choices for the combination of blond hair and green eyes, like she has, are really limited! Maybe one or two dolls. I was a little disappointed about that but we’ll figure it out. 🙂

      • softie1 says:

        I have always liked Molly! I think because of her dark hair, glasses, and the fashions for that time period are really cute. I agree with you that the options for the custom dolls are too limited. I found the same thing with the red haired dolls. That was why I went with the auburn hair because they just didn’t have enough options to choose from so I just went as close as I could.

  3. Jo says:

    Oh no, I hope you manage to get everything sorted out soon. Glad you still managed to enjoy your grandaughter’s birthday and her party though, I think these things help us put everything in perspective.

    • softie1 says:

      I can not wait to have it back to normal. For one, I don’t like it hanging over our heads, and two it feels so crowded and yucky down there. Once the carpet is back in, all the rubbish hauled out, and everything back in order it will not feel such a drag to even think about going down there to put in a load of laundry or bring something upstairs. How right you are that the bad times make the good times so much better and that is what matters in the end. Have a great week. 🙂

  4. Gillian says:

    Oh what a week. I heard that some parts of the US had been badly flooded on the news – just more misery on top of what has already been an horrendous week for you guys. It’s good that you were able to focus on the happy things like family and birthdays, and that the flooding was contained to the basement. I hope next week is better! x

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Gillian. A lot of people are hoping that next week goes better than this one. It really does help to focus on the happy things. Have a great week! 🙂

  5. Clairity says:

    Oh nooo, so sorry to hear about your flooding, and that sure was some rain you had!! I just want enough to cool things down a bit, we’ve been in the sweltering 90s and we desperately need some reprieve.

    Good that you had a bunch of other things to cheer up your weekend 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Thanks Clairity. Maybe we could split the difference cool you off about 15 degrees and warm us up about 15. It would about even out. 😉 Have a great week!

  6. Anne says:

    I’m so pleased I was able to bring a wee bit of happiness into your week, Jan. :o)

    I hope you manage to get the basement sorted really soon.

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

