softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on April 23, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

Do you prefer to drive or be driven?

imagesCA6B6JKY

That actually depends on the situation. Most of the time I drive unless I am with my husband. He prefers to drive especially if it is a long drive. I always let him. 🙂

What’s your favorite kind of jam, jelly, or preserve?

IMG_2168

I like almost every type of fruit jam or jelly I have tried. The berry ones are usually my favorites. Strawberry, raspberry, black raspberry, blueberry, blackberry you name it they are all good. Preserves tend not to be my favorite. Sometimes there are just too many actual chunks of fruit in it for my taste. Jam is about as chunky as I like.

Do you have any special plans for this spring or summer?

imagesCALQOEGZ

Summer is when my husband and his brother go racing. They have 6 weekend events planned this season and I have them all lined up on my calendar. My job is all round go-fer. I help out as needed, make sure my husband makes time to eat, and of course the most important job cheering squad leader. 🙂

Lots of folks are becoming aware of issues with food. There are many articles, books, and movies on topics like allergies, GMO, pesticide use, bad or no labeling, over processed foods, foods from other countries that may not have high standards, and many more topics. What concerns you the most? If nothing concerns you, have a cookie and skip to the next question.

imagesCAD8030F

Oh my gosh I know I should worry about these things so much more than I actually do. The one thing I really look out for is shellfish since I am allergic to it. I watch the labels of frozen or canned food products and I pay attention to cross contamination risks in restaurants. As for the other stuff I may look at a label to avoid trans fats and crazy high calorie counts but other than that I pretty much don’t worry a whole lot about it. Does that still qualify me for the cookie?? 😉

Do you use nail polish often? Finger nails, piggies, or both?

imagesCAXKY4U0

I only use nail polish during the summer sandal season. I polish my toenails and that is it. Nail polish never makes it through the day if I put it on my fingernails so I just don’t bother. I keep all of my nails clipped short and filed all the time. I love pedicures but only get about 1 or 2 a season because they have become so costly. When I do get them done usually the pedicurist will tell me that my toe nails are too short and I should let them grow longer. I never really follow that advice. I just continue to clip them short and polish them myself.

Thank you Patrice for another lovely chat. If you would like to join in and chat Patrice would love to have you. Stop over at Everyday Ruralty and check it out.

22 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. So glad you understand my dilemma with the toenails!!! Mine look so bad!!! 😦 Plus, I took a fall last spring and it really messed up both of my big toes…yes, I’m also quite clutzy!!! Sigh….there seems to be no hope for me!! ha! ha!

  2. I’ve never had a pedicure and can only imagine I’d giggle all the way through … I have SUCH tickly feet!

  3. Madonna says:

    at my last pedicure I offered to adopt the woman doing my feet. I love pedicures so much.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I haven’t ever had a pedicure but I think I would be too ticklish! I don’t enjoy having my feet touched. But it must be different when a professional does it. I hardly ever wear nail polish, I agree it just doesn’t seem to last for me either. I agree with you about the food warnings; I try to maintain a healthy diet and avoid additives and chemicals but it’s hard to do that all the time. I think most things are probably fine in moderation, even cookies. 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      I like the way you think Jennifer! I don’t know if you would like the pedicure but you will never know unless you try one. I highly recommend it. 🙂

  5. Debbie says:

    Sounds like you will have a very busy but fun summer!

  6. Jo says:

    I would be driven round all the time if I got my way, I hate driving. I’m just the same as you regarding my nails, no polish on my fingers, and kept quite short. My daughter paints my toenails for me, otherwise I wouldn’t bother.

  7. A lot of the questions would be answered the same by me.
    I won’t go anywhere during the Summer though. We live in a beautiful part of the Ntherlands and people pay a lot to come and stay here and we live here !!! No need to go away ; )
    Have a great day.

  8. Our answers were so similiar (except for our summer plans)……this is so fun to answer and read everyone else’s answers too! LOVE all those vibrant color of nail polishes (only for my toe nails though). 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Have a great day!
    Tammy

  9. patrice says:

    Yes. You can still have a cookie. Sounds like you will be busy this summer. Shellfish allergies can be nasty. I’m glad you’re careful. Have a great week!

  10. Gillian says:

    I’ve never had a pedicure either. Like you, my toenails get painted throughout the summer but that’s it. I used to wear nail varnish every day but I just don’t see the point now, it gets chipped so quickly. Good quality hand cream matters more to me than nail varnish now…I’m sounding like such a housewife! x

  11. Very interesting questions! I really don’t enjoy driving, although I like taking my teenage daughter for a drive because we have good chats. I also enjoy drives out in the country if other drivers aren’t pressuring me. As for jam, I have had such a strong hankering for marmalade recently! (Probably hormonal.) I only use nail polish to fix runs in tights. And I try to get summer footwear that covers my toes! Not difficult in Scotland.

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

