softiesplace

Happy Friday!!

on April 26, 2013

imagesCA08KKTR

I have been noticing this last 2 weeks that many of my colleagues and the kids I have been working with are quite sour. Real Negative Nellies and Normans. It has been an effort to keep upbeat being around that all the time. I really think it has to do with the late arrival of spring. We have been shut up indoors for far too long around here. In order to be proactive I scheduled a lunch date with a friend today. It will only be a short visit at Subway mid work day for both of us. But here is the best part–it is supposed to warm up to mid 60’s today! I think this is just what we all need some warm sunshine to lift the funk that has descended upon so many of us. If you don’t ever plan something special on Fridays I highly recommend giving it a shot. Even if it is just packing something special in your  lunch or wearing tennis shoes to work. Even if no one else in the world knows it is something different or special you will and it can really bring a little something positive to your day. I hope the sun is shining in your world today. Have a great Friday!

14 responses to “Happy Friday!!

  1. Jennifer says:

    That sounds really nice. Have a good time. 🙂

  2. Anne says:

    Enjoy your lunch! 🙂

  3. I completely agree about the specialness of Fridays. At our house we watch the Waltons on Friday evenings! (Most of the time.) We’re working through them from the beginning and so should have many happy times on Waltons Mountains in the months and years to come. I like your idea of doing something fun that only you know about.

  4. Carol says:

    Moaning minnies can bring you down even when you start the day feeling positive. I too believe this long winter has a lot to do with it, thankfully it seems to be almost over. Hope you had a lovely lunch and the sun came out to play.

    Carol xx

    • softie1 says:

      You are so right on how quickly that negativity can spread. I did not let it get to me.The sun did indeed come out and it has been great! Have a great weekend!

  5. Moonwaves says:

    I really like this idea. I do try and do something special from time to time but haven’t ever consciously made it on the same day every week. But routines sooth my soul so I think I may have a go at choosing the same day every week to just do something special in my lunchtime, even if I’m the only one who knows I’m doing it. Being able to do something special any and every day just isn’t the same as having one day where you plan it, even if “it” is nothing more than preparing an elaborate salad to take with you for lunch instead of a sandwich.

    Hope you enjoyed your lunch yesterday.

    • softie1 says:

      I always do like to make Friday special. Friday always makes me happy and doing something special each week gives me something to look forward to each week. I go through phases it seems it has been at times special linch treats, comfy shoes only for Fridays, wearing a skirt, an occasional lunch date. Not big things but to me they are something different. Until now no one ever knew about it but me but I really enjoy it.

  6. Moonwaves says:

    Soothe! I’m not really sure what sooth my soul would involve but I did, of course, mean soothe!

  7. Jo says:

    People with negative attitudes can really bring you down. I hope you enjoyed your lunch date. We used to go to the pub for lunch on a Friday at a place I used to work, happy days.

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

