softiesplace

Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

on May 1, 2013

chatsonthefarmhouseporch[1]

When it’s time to cut the grass (mow the lawn), who does it?

images[7]

That would be my husband. My husband likes to be outside and would much prefer outdoor chores to indoor ones. I pretty much do the majority of the indoor chores unless something needs to be fixed so it is a pretty even trade-off. This means he usually mows the lawn while I am doing something equally as exciting like laundry. We share the fun around here, lol.

imagesCA8UV42U

If someone gave you $500 dollars and you could not spend it on yourself, who would you spend it on?

imagesCAZ12WP3

Probably my kids. They have been the recipients of most of our money for the last 26 years so this would likely not be any different. 🙂

Have you ever taken a blogging break or considered one?

imagesCAALOCF3

I am a fairly new blogger and I do not post very often so no I am not really considering taking a break. I have felt a bit guilty at times about not posting more. I have thought about that some and I have chosen to just do what I can. If I can only post 2 or 3 times a week that is okay for me. Blogging is not my profession. I have a full-time career and a family so blogging is something I am doing for pleasure. So it has to fit in with my schedule and can not become overwhelming or it would not be fun. Also, quite honestly if I have nothing to really say that would interest me I would not post it because it certainly would not interest anyone else either. I don’t have an exciting enough life to come up with a blog post everyday!!

Are you bothered by spring allergies or hay fever? If not spring, any other time of the year?

imagesCA83UI6F

Yes. I do have allergies that are worse in the spring. I am allergic to several environmental/ plants. The biggies are certain types of trees. So they really bother me when the trees are budding and pollinating. I sometimes will take Allegra for the symptoms or more often Ibuprofen for the headache and try my best to go about my business. The nasal symptoms are easier for me to deal with than the eye symptoms. When my eyes get bad is when I medicate. I do experience allergies at other times of the year and of course I have a food allergy so that is all the time.

What’s new with you?

imagesCAJS00PU

I am getting ready to chaperone another long distance trip. This is quite unusual for me to be asked to chaperone two trips. I have never been involved with this trip before but I will be going away with this group for four days. We leave Friday morning and I am looking forward to it. The location is not nearly as far as the Spring Break trip. So we will be taking a motor coach only no planes involved this time.

imagesCAIV7R55

The day I arrive back home from the trip my daughter will be moving home from college for the summer. That will be a process getting all her stuff moved out of her dorm and back into the house. Then of course the readjustment for everyone. It will be a busy week but a good one too. There is a lot to look forward to in the next several days. 🙂

Thank you Patrice for another lovely chat. If you would like to join in and chat Patrice would love to have you. Stop over at Everyday Ruralty and check it out.

20 responses to “Chats on the Farmhouse Porch

  1. Jennifer says:

    I always enjoy reading these and I look forward to your posts. You always have something interesting to say when you post, in my opinion. 🙂

  2. Sherri says:

    I love your outlook on posting. In some way it made me feel better about my lack of regular posts. I enjoyed chatting, have fun on your trip, & have a blessed & safe week :O)

  3. Gillian says:

    I think you should just post as and when you feel like it. That’s what I do! And your posts are always interesting and entertaining. My kids are only 3 and 6 and they are already a huge drain on my wallet. x

  4. Karen says:

    I enjoyed reading your chat! I hope you have fun on your trip!!

  5. I mowed the lawn yesterday – I love doing it because I can see my progress (if that makes sense). It’s very tangible.

    I love your posts! Have a great trip on Friday, Kirsten x

  6. patrice says:

    Tree pollen is the big culprit for me. I hope you have a good trip. I’d take a bus over a plane these days. I used to love flying, but it was a hassle last time. I’ll just stay on my little old farm! Have a good week!

  7. Clairity says:

    I had no idea you’re sorta new to blogging. But it’s great that we both write for pleasure. A long trip, that’s exciting. me too 🙂

    • softie1 says:

      Hi Clairity, yes I only began blogging in January. I have been enjoying it so far. I am excited about the trip and hope it all goes well. Thanks for stopping by today. Have a great week. 🙂

  8. Jo says:

    Our grass had it’s first cut of the year last week, Hubby did it. I never mow the lawn, it’s usually Hubby or son who does it.

  9. So interesting! Chaperoning a long-distance trip sounds like very hard work to me.

  10. Wonderful !! We don’t have grass in the garden, I have allergies, but a wonderful pill to help cope ; )

  11. Hello! I have been thinking of you! There hasn’t been a post for a little while but I guess life has just been getting in the way? I hope all is well! Kirsten x

  12. Jennifer says:

    Hi Softie! How are you doing? I hope everything is okay with you.

  13. Carol says:

    I’ve been using my lovely mug and thinking about you this winter and hoping you are ok.
    Carol xx

Leave a Reply

Writing from Scotland

by Christine Laennec

Eat at Home

Everyday Food for Busy People

justathought

Just the thoughts of a girl.

Irish American Mom

Sharing My Recipes And Ramblings

